Friday, July 13, 2012

Review: The Calling


On Wednesday I finished The Calling by Kelley Armstrong. Now I get to review it. Okay, I got this book way back in April on the first day it came out, but I had other books I wanted to read before I read this one, so it kinda got pushed towards the back of my reading list. I'm totally obsessed with The Darkest Powers by Kelley Armstrong, and if this was one of those books I would have started reading it in the bookstore. Before I paid for it! I was wrong to push this book back to the end of my reading list. This book was actually really good, not just really good, but great!

Here is a little summary of the book, but please do read the first book, The Gathering, before you read this one if you have not already! (Summarized from Barnes & Noble)

Maya Delaney's paw-print birthmark is the mark of what she truly is—a skin-walker. She can run faster, climb higher, and see better than nearly everyone else. Experiencing intense connections with the animals that roam the woods outside her home, Maya knows it's only a matter of time before she's able to Shift and become one of them. And she believes there may be others in her small town with surprising talents.

Now Maya and her friends have been forced to flee from their homes during a forest fire they suspect was deliberately set. Then they're kidnapped, and after a chilling helicopter crash, they find themselves in the Vancouver Island wilderness with nothing but their extraordinary abilities to help them get back home.

In The Calling, the sizzling second book in the Darkness Rising trilogy, New York Times bestselling author Kelley Armstrong pumps up the romance, danger, and suspense that left readers of The Gathering clamoring for more.


I really enjoy the characters in this book. Besides Rafe. I personally don't care for his character, and I was glad he was gone for about 90% of the book. His character really bugs me. Maybe it's just because I am all for Maya/ Daniel, and Rafe is a road block between them. Plus I am not a big fan of two people knowing each other for a few chapters, ans making out in the next. When two characters have their relationship build up before they kiss is what I like. (It wasn't until book 3 of The Darkest Powers that Chloe kissed Simon or Derek.) In the next book I really want a Maya and Daniel kiss. Oh, just one and I will be so happy! (But more than one is totally fine with me:)) I love how Daniel and Maya have that brother/sister like protection, but I think it is getting obvious that Daniel feels something more than friends with Maya, but I'm not so sure about Maya. In the book there are little cute moments that made me squeal.

Here is one moment where I believe we can see that Daniel might like Maya. It's on pages 299 to 300. This is the part where Maya is trying to tell Daniel about Rafe, but Sam walks in and interupts.

"No, you're not. Heroic sacrifice or not, he's still a jerk. He waltzed into Salmon Creek and stole Maya."
"Stole?"I said.
"It's not your fault. You two are both skin-walkers. It's animal magnetism. You can't help yourself." She glared at Corey, who was cracking up behind Rafe. "Stop that.You know it's true. Maya's too smart to fall for an arrogant, self-centered-" 
"Enough," Daniel said.
Sam sighed. "I know you're trying to be fair, Daniel, but you need to stand up for yourself, not let this smirking bad boy wannabe waltz in and-"
"Enough!"


Hmm. Maybe Sam thinks that Rafe stole Maya from him, and she's trying to get him to admit it and he knows it and wants her to stop? It's a good guess though. Could it be wrong? Yes, or no.

I guess we will have to wait for The Rising to see. I can't wait to see how the two books mesh together, I think Tori is going to go after Daniel, and I think Tori and Sam could be best friends. They do have the same type of personality. Hopefully we will see some Maya and Daniel action, plus some more Chloe and Derek is always nice. I think Nicole might get Rafe. Hayley and Corey maybe? Daniel and Maya hopefully. Chloe and Derek of course. Or Tori and Rafe, I could see it, maybe. I hope Simon doesn't go for any of the girls in this trilogy, especially Nicole. I can't stand Nicole and the thought of her being with my Simon, er, Simon, is just disgusting. I don't want to think about that. Maybe Hayley, but I don't really like her and I'd rather her be with Corey. Okay enough with my ships. We will have to wait til 2013 to find out....which I don't if I can do.


Rating: 4.5/5 Stars
 


No comments:

Post a Comment